Cleveland Browns

NFL team the Cleveland Browns have been around since 1946, when they started playing as a charter team of the All American Football Conference (AAFC). The Browns won the AAFC titles for four years, and even had an undefeated season in 1948, when they won 15-0. In 1950, the team joined the NFL, and would eventually go on to win four championships.

Here is some of the history of the Cleveland Browns:

  • The Browns were affiliated with the All American Football Conference—Western Division from 1946-1949.
  • They have been with the National Football League (NFL) from 1950-present, including the American Conference from 1950-1952, Eastern Conference 1953-1969, Century Division from 1967-1969, American Football Conference from 1970-1995, and then again from 1999-present, AFC Central from 1970-1995, and then from 1999-2001, and the AFC North from 2002-present.
  • The Browns won all four AAFC Championships from 1946-1949, and NFL American Championships every year from 1950-1952, as well as eight NFL Eastern Championships: 1953-1955, 1957, 1964-1965, and 1968-1969.
  • Thirteen Division Championships have been won by the Cleveland Browns, including 1946-1949 when they won four AAFC Western Championships. They also won NFL Century titles from 1967-1969, and AFC Central titles in: 1971, 1980, 1985-1986, 1987, and 1989.
  • The Browns have made 27 play of appearances over the years in both the AAFC and the NFL.
  • The Browns domination in the AAFC was part of the reason why the Conference chose to resolve itself.

Cleveland Browns have gone through different “eras” over their decades, starting with “The Jim Brown Era” that lasted from 1957-1970. Jim Brown was one of the top NFL players, and in 1958, he ran almost twice as many yards than any other running back. The Browns had a lot of success, especially during the late 1960’s.

In 1979-1980, the Browns received the name “The Kardiac Kids” has a reference to their playing close games, in which the outcome wasn’t decided until the very last moments. 1996-1999 were known as the “Inactivity” years for the Cleveland Browns. The Browns came close to being moved to other cities, but finally a legal settlement was accepted for them to stay in Cleveland. They had to be “deactivated” from 1996-1999, while a new stadium was being built for their team. After rejoining the NFL in 1999, the Cleveland Browns had a horrible season, with a record of 2 wins and 14 losses—one of the worst records in NFL history.

The team’s current season in 2008 is their 58th season with the NFL, and their 62nd year as a team all together. Romeo Crennel is their head coach for the 4th year in a row.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.